How to Delete a Power BI Workspace

Power BI workspaces are used to enable collaboration and enforce data governance. As business needs change over time, you may find that you need to delete a Power BI workspace because an employee is either no longer with the company or it no longer serves its purpose. We’ll explain what a workspace is and how to delete them.

What is a Power BI Workspace?

Power BI workspaces are collaborative environments where multiple users can create and share reports, dashboards, and other Power BI content. Workspaces can be shared with different users and have Power BI reports and dashboards assigned to them. Users with access to the workspace will also have access to all of the reports available.

Workspaces can be accessed from the Power BI service at PowerBI.com. Click on the Workspaces button on the left side of webpage to view the workspaces that you have access to.

Delete Power BI workspaces by first selecting a workspace in the Power BI service

Over time, the number of workspaces that have been created tend to grow and some become obsolete as companies reorganize or project priorities change.

It’s best practice to delete unused workspaces in Power BI when they are no longer needed to avoid clutter.

How to Delete a Power BI Workspace

To delete a Power BI Workspace, log into PowerBI.com. Navigate to the Workspaces tab and click the button to the right of the Power BI workspace that you wish to delete. Select Workspace Settings, Other options, and select Remove this Workspace. The workspace and all content in the workspace will be permanently deleted after 30 days.

Navigate to workspace settings where the remove this workspace option is located

Under workspace settings, navigate to other, and select remove this workspace.

The Power BI remove this workspace button will delete a workspace after a 30 day grace period

Microsoft grants Power BI Admins the ability to delete almost anything in the Power BI Service. While it’s a nice feature to have, we recommend enforcing stricter data governance around who can create and modify workspaces to better protect data and to mitigate the need to centrally manage Power BI assets that grow out of control.

Recovering Deleted Workspaces

If you accidentally delete a workspace, a Power BI Admin has 30 days to restore the workspace before it is gone forever. You can read more about how to recover workspaces in our guide here: How to Recover a Power BI Workspace.

Scroll to Top